Michelle's Blog

My life as a wife, homemaker, friend, Christian

Spicey! April 3, 2009

Filed under: home — mrswade @ 9:16 am
Tags: ,

So much blogging to catch up on after spring break!  

img_3035

A couple weeks ago I realized how little I used spices (without them being called for) and how often I needed to omit a spice from a recipe because I didn’t have it.  I am a little scared of spices, I’m super scared that instead of enhancing whatever I have just made, it will ruin it with the wrong kind of strong flavor.  The only spices I am not afraid of are Italian spices because I’ve learned to use those ones pretty well.   (And can’t get enough rosemary!)  I had some basic spice staples, thanks to my step-mom who stalked me up a few years back, but I decided it was time for me to venture into spice world without holding someone’s hand.

I found this blog post on spices to have in your cupboard and many of their uses and combinations, so I took notes, and set out to Penzeys.  As a bonus, Cherise met me there for some company and catch up time while spicin’ it up. 🙂  On my list was the majority of the spices on the list in the post I mentioned earlier.  I came home with those, plus some, and minus chile powder (which I blame on Cherise 😉 haha).  The spices were sold by the jar (large and small) and by the bag (big, bigger, biggest).  The price for the big bag, was generally 1/2 the price of the large jar, for twice as much spice!  So even though I didn’t have Jars for them all I got the bags, and figured I’d find jars elsewhere.

 

mustard, poppy seeds, chives, cayenne red pepper, cloves, french tarragon, garlic powder, sage, onion powder, marjoram and all spice

mustard, poppy seeds, chives, cayenne red pepper, cloves, french tarragon, garlic powder, sage, onion powder, marjoram and all spice

When I got home I heated my oven to 200 and dried out some parsley I had so I didn’t have to buy that too.  I ended up finding jars but the baggies had so much spices in them that the jars were too small.  That’s fine though, I won’t be buying those spices for a very long time.  Now if I could just figure out how to use them. 🙂

 

all the new spices in their jars

all the new spices in their jars

 

One Response to “Spicey!”

  1. Healthy Diet Lets Woman Lose Thirty Pounds in Thirty Days Says:

    Hi, good post. I have been pondering this topic,so thanks for posting. I will definitely be coming back to your posts.


Leave a Reply

