Michelle's Blog

My life as a wife, homemaker, friend, Christian

It works! – Homemade Deodorant March 8, 2009

Filed under: frugal,home,Recipes — mrswade @ 3:56 pm
Tags: , ,

I read on one of my new favorite blogs, passionate home making, about the wonders of Coconut Oil and how you can use it in homemade deodorant (see original post here)!  I have some armpit issues (sorry if this is in TMI, I’m sure you’ll get over it).  They get very irritated after I shave, itch like crazy the night after I shave and definitely aren’t the best smelling (I blame this on my dad, thanks dad).  I was also excited about this because the aluminum that is in standard antiperspirant/deodorants are thought to cause and/or increase risk of breast cancer.  I was pretty nervous about making this deoderant at home because 1. coconut oil is super expensive, 2. nothing works for my armpits.  I made it on friday and tested it out saturday morning after I shaved.  The first sign of amazingness was that it didn’t sting at all after I shaved.  I completely forgot I had it on all day (didn’t sweat at all, though it wasn’t hot and I didn’t really do anything that active).  That night I remembered I had it on and did a little sniff check, NOTHING! I asked Jake to smell it and he stuck his nose in my pit and said he couldn’t really smell anything.  Of course,  you can always smell a little something, but I couldn’t get close enough to smell anything on myself.  Jake did a 1-pit experiment with the homemade in one pit and Old Spice in the other.  I LOVE his old spice and his natural scent, but I actually like the homemade side more and could barely smell anything!  Anyway, I would really suggest this, especially for women, be natural, stay sweet smelling and breast cancer free!

coconut_oil

 

Ingredients:

  • Coconut oil
  • baking soda
  • arrowroot powder or cornstarch

Combine equal portions of baking soda & corn starch (Passionate Homemaking uses about 1/4 cup each) Then slowly add coconut oil and work it in with a spoon until it maintains the substance you desire (Passionate Homemaking uses approx 5-6 Tbls). It should be about the same texture as the store bought kind. You can either scoop this into your old dispensers or place in a small container with lid and apply with fingers with each use. After applying the product, you can just rub the remains into your hands as a lotion!

 

Leave a Reply

