Michelle's Blog

My life as a wife, homemaker, friend, Christian

Very Old Muffins February 6, 2009

Filed under: home,Recipes — mrswade @ 11:54 pm

For Christmas from my step-grandma (I guess that’s what you would call her, anyway, my step-mom’s mom), I received her mothers muffin tin (great-step-grandma) and her mother-in-law’s Refrigerator Muffin Mix recipe (that would be my step-mom’s, step-dad’s, mom, which I think would mean my double-step-great-grandma).  ANYWAY, I thought it was really special to get the muffin tin from Kay (my step-grandma) because Nana (step-great-grandma), Kay and Kari (step-mom) were really close and I don’t have grandparents, so it was really cool.  I made the muffin mix for the first time today, and it was delish!  I think it’s so fun too, because you make the mix and just stick it in the fridge.  You just pull it out whenever you want muffins and bake em up!

I’m posting the half recipe because the full one is gigantic, the note in the hand-written recipe even says that “I use texas gallon pale”  I’m not sure what that means, but it seems big, cuz everything is bigger in Texas right?  I wonder if she was from Texas…. 🙂 (note: do not pour your boiling water into a glass measuring cup to measure it, it may explode all over your kitchen, believe me.)

Refrigerator Muffin Mix

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 cups all bran
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup boiling water

Let cool thoroughly in container

Add:

  • 2 eggs beaten until foamy
  • 2 1/2 cups flour (I used white, but next time I want to use whole wheat)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 pint buttermilk
  • 1 more cup all bran
  • raisins if desired

“Stir but don’t beat.  Keep in covered container in refig.  Spoon out to use – don’t re-beat.  Bake at 375 for 15-20 min.”

There you have it, yummy bran muffins takes only 15 minutes in the morning once you’ve made it. 🙂 ENJOY!

 

One Response to “Very Old Muffins”

  1. Mikaela Says:

    may i assume you had a slight experience with exploding glass measuring cups? the recipe sounds amazing and i’m going to make it as soon as i can! 🙂


Leave a Reply

