Michelle's Blog

My life as a wife, homemaker, friend, Christian

the nothing-new kick February 4, 2009

Filed under: Creativity,frugal,thoughts — mrswade @ 3:37 pm

So, this semester I have been thinking about many wonderful possibilities for life.  I have this dream of doing a little of everything and having a little shop, where I sell all my random stuff.  My re-claimed furniture, painted and re-upholstered, re-painted frames with prints that I took and developed myself.  Blankets, coffee cozies, scarves and hats that I knitted or crocheted, little children’s clothes and blankets that I sewed, pots, mugs and bowls that I made, jam that I canned, pillows that I put together, pre-scrapbooked pages for you to put your own pictures in, recycled candles in old jars, and whatever else I can come up with!  I would absolutely love and adore for that to be my life, who knows, maybe someday it could be?

I went to Goodwill today to get a shirt for pottery.  I spent $7 on it, which was really lame, because $7 is kind of expensive for Goodwill, but it’s really cute 🙂  I looked around the rest of the store and had to exercise my will-power not to just snatch everything up.  I got to thinking, that this year, no one is going to get a “new” gift for birthdays or Christmas.  I don’t know if my friends and family will be as thrilled about this as I am, but they should be.  Not only will I be re-using and recycling (gotta work on that reducing part…), but I will be saving money AND being creative!  I hope my friends and family likes pots and pictures, because I will be making a lot of them this semester and hoping to give them as gifts when the time comes.  🙂

So anyway, I just needed to blog my excitement about it all.  Maybe I’ll write down a list of things I think are rad and want to make this year, give me something solid to look at when I’m looking for something to create.  🙂

and on another note.  It is AMAZINGLY sunny today and I drove the whole way home from lunch with Jake with windows down, sunroof back and music up (all while wearing a t-shirt)!  It is gorgeous out!  I better not get used to it though, its only February.

 

Leave a Reply

