Michelle's Blog

My life as a wife, homemaker, friend, Christian

Roast Chicken December 9, 2008

Filed under: Recipes — mrswade @ 12:18 pm

I roast my first chicken the other day, it was VERY good.

Inside the chicken I put chunks of lemon, a sprig of fresh rosemary and a few cloves of garlic. 

img_24061

I then rubbed butter with dried rosemary and a little dijon mustard all over underneath the skin of the chicken.

img_2407I roasted for 2 hours at 350 (last half hour I turned it down to 325 because the skin was getting very crunchy).  It turned out beautifully!  Very juicy and tender!  (now I just need to learn how to make gravy!  I can’t seem to get it right)

img_2408

I served my chicken with garlic mashed potatoes and a raspberry vinaigrette salad!

Garlic Mashed potatoes

  • boil potatoes and a few cloves of garlic until potatoes can easily be pierced with a fork
  • drain potatoes and garlic in colander, add back to pot
  • saute a few crushed garlic cloves in olive oil until soft (not crunchy) in a pan
  • add garlic and olive oil to potatoes
  • add milk and butter to potatoes until smooth consistency
  • Mash them all together and add some grated parmesan cheese if you would like
  • ENJOY

Salad Ingredients

  • spinach
  • berries or sliced apple or pear
  • nuts (cashews, almonds, walnuts or hazelnuts)
  • cheese (blue or feta)
  • raspberry vinaigrette 

img_2411

and of course…happy husband img_2412🙂

 

Leave a Reply

